Ralph Stanley CD “Poor Rambler”

Original price was: $14.98.Current price is: $13.98.

New Factory Sealed Shrink Wrapped Shipped With USPS Media Mail 

Free worldwide shipping on all orders over $499.00
Payment support :


Ralph Stanley CD “Poor Rambler” 3-CD 

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: June 17, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: King

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sharecropper’s Son
  • 2.Hemlock and Primroses
  • 3.That Beautiful Woman
  • 4.Poor Rambler
  • 5.Lonesome
  • 6.Lost Train
  • 7.Row Hoe
  • 8.Wonderful World Outside
  • 9.Sweet Sally Brown
  • 10.Love Please Stay
  • 11.I’m Better Off Now That You’re Gone
  • 12.You Could Never Be True
  • 13.Roll on Buddy
  • 14.I’m Coming Back But I Don’t Know When
  • 15.I’m Coming Down the Road
  • 16.Rabbit in the Log
  • 17.In the Pines

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Over the Sunset Hill
  • 2.Going up Home to Live in Green Pastures
  • 3.What Kind of Man
  • 4.I Want a Clear Record
  • 5.Prepare Me O Lord
  • 6.I Wanna Go Home
  • 7.A Little Soldier for Jesus
  • 8.Jesse James Prayed
  • 9.Snow Covered Mound
  • 10.I’ll Be With Dad and Mother
  • 11.Thou Long Expected Jesus
  • 12.Be Ready to Go
  • 13.Let Me Walk Lord by Your Side – (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Old Crossroad, The – (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Hills of Home
  • 2.Darling Brown Eyes
  • 3.My Long Skinny Lanky Sarah Jane
  • 4.Coosy
  • 5.Midnight Storm
  • 6.Let’s Go to the Fair
  • 7.Dark Hollow
  • 8.Dug-gunn Shame
  • 9.The Kitten and the Cat
  • 10.California
  • 11.I Only Exist – (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Medicine Springs
  • 13.Footprints in the Snow
  • 14.Sunny Side of the Mountain
  • 15.God Gave You to Me – (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Stone Walls and Steel Bars – (previously unreleased)
  • 17.I Only Exist

Product Description:

Personnel: Ralph Stanley (banjo); Larry Sparks (vocals, guitar); Jimmy Martin (guitar, mandolin); Melvin Goins (guitar); Kenny Ingram (banjo); Earl Taylor (mandolin, harmonica); Vernon Derrick (mandolin); Curley Ray Cline (fiddle); Glenn Davis (drums).
Liner Note Author: Gary B. Reid.
Recording information: Gusto Studios, Nashville, TN (05/19/1967-03/04/1980); King Studios, Cincinnati, OHStarday Studios, Nashville, (05/19/1967-03/04/1980).
Arranger: Ralph Stanley.
Any three-disc set of previously hard-to-find recordings by Ralph Stanley would be a release worth noting. But this one is especially exciting because it brings together the entirety of Stanley’s work for the King and Gusto labels, much of it from the late ’60s when Stanley was arguably at the peak of his considerable powers. Much of this material features lead singer Larry Sparks, the man generally considered Ralph Stanley’s most effective duet partner since the death of his brother Carter. Indeed, the 36 King sides were recorded shortly after Carter’s untimely death and a brief but intense period of personal grief and professional uncertainty on Ralph’s part. When he returned to recording and playing it was with an impressive level of energy and commitment, as these recordings make plain — just listen to the gritty incisiveness of his renditions of “Poor Rambler,” “I’m Better Off Now That You’re Gone,” and the Bill Monroe classic “In the Pines.” But as fine as these songs are, the real fun comes on the 12 songs that Stanley recorded for the Gusto label with Jimmy Martin handling lead vocals and rhythm guitar chores. Martin’s patented buzzsaw whine and powerful guitar attack push Stanley in a way that his late brother never had, and the results are thrilling. The occasional harmonica and drums (!) are an annoyance, but not more than an annoyance. Very highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.